Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
roseacademyacademics

What's your hobby?

21 posts in this topic

I know as moms we don't have a ton of time. 

I sew. I love to sew. And blog about what I make. I even started developing PDF sewing patterns.

However I had to take a break from sewing and pattern development. It is a very LONG road, with lots of competition and I can't work as fast and as much as I'd like, well, not without ignoring my family and home responsibiliteis.

So I took a break in order to build my home based business. I'll return to sewing/blogging/pattern making soon though. I still pull the machine out to do simple mending projects and such. I miss it. BUT I realized for the good of my family and homeschooling and home based business building that I didn't want the rest of my hours to be behind a sewing machine or computer.

What do you do?

2 people like this

I love to knit. I used to sew (primarily self taught), but I never felt like I was very good at it. I made a few outfits and dozens of quilts that were passable, but almost nothing amazing. I also used to crochet, but that was always a like, not a love. Then in January 2016 (after I announced to my family that I was giving up sewing), my husband suggested I learn to knit. We poked around online and discovered that the yarn store that I frequented had "learn to knit" classes once a month (they also have "learn to crochet," but I already knew how to do that). The next one was taking place on Valentine's Day, so we decided I'd attend. (We had a newborn at the time, so going out wasn't an option.) I haven't put down my needles since :)

3 people like this

2 hours ago, Crystal Starr said:

Crochet!  I crochet like a mad woman.  It keeps me sane.